I Have A Huge Secret.. Please Don’t Tell My Mom!

Let me tell you a little bit about our mum. She is young, silly, a perfectionist (like us), and should write a cookbook about cooking on a budget. Now that we’re older we call her Queen Elizabeth because she has a certain way she wants her food, life, service, etc and if she doesn’t get it best believe she will snap her sweet little fingers and make it all change. I’m still not sure how she schmoozes her way into befriending the most unique people, but somehow my mamma always gets what she wants

Growing up we were poor. Our mom though always found a way to upgrade all of our meals. Instead of a simple meal of pasta and sauce ($2 to feed a whole family) she would make clam pasta with garlic sauce with assorted veggies ($3?). I mean the woman was a wiz. She always tried her best to make sure we had healthy, tasty meals, without taking short cuts.

I however am Queen of takeout. With my nursing school schedule I feel like I lack any time to really make a healthy tasty meal. By the time I get home from school and clinicals the last thing I want to do is stand over a hot stove. So I pay someone else to do it for me. My poor honey has suffered through many of McDonalds #5 (Bacon Burger). Although I love their little apple pies I’ve been getting sick of them too.

So I decided to take my sisters advise, to stop being lazy, and I went grocery shopping! I haven’t gone grocery shopping in probably a little over a month (I normally go a couple of times a week) so I had to get a ridiculous amount of things. Weirdly, people judged me for the gross amount of food I was pushing around during my 3 hour Walmart trip. I tend to go up and down every aisle, call A for recipes, call my mom for advise, and finally spend about a good 20 minutes putting things back.

IMG_4129

As you can see, my cart was filleeddddd. I felt bad for those standing behind me with only a few things, but I can’t just let EVERYONE ahead of me…right?

Okay, so I decided to go home and make as many meals as I could. It was a really good idea at first, Pinterest got me all pumped up, but dang it took forever and by the end of it I was just throwing chicken chunks into bags with BBQ sauce on top.

If you’re wondering what these little freezer meals are..let me tell ya. You take pretty much every ingredient you would normally use to make a meal, combine them, throw them in a freezer bag, freeze them, take them out the night before you plan to make them, and pop them into the crock pot before you head to your daily activity. Cool…even I can do that…right?

I love the ease of these dump bags, but as I already said I hate the work. I’m a little lazy, I’m not going to lie. Below you’ll see my freezer bags with the tops folded over ready for ingredients to be added into it. Please don’t judge my messy counter top…a girl is trying!

Displaying IMG_4130.JPG

Looking at all the raw chicken is making me sick. Sick because it looks disgusting and sick remembering how much work that took! I cut up over 10lbs of chicken and 5lbs of beef.

So all that strain made me take out that bottle of wine someone left at my house from a party a month and a half ago. Thank you very much party guest! My sister and I believe in two things. Always have a back up bottle of wine and a back up bird in your freezer. You know those whole little chickens that stores sell for like 99 cents/lb.

Displaying IMG_4178.JPG

Okay, so fast forward a couple of days, and here is where the scandal comes in. Today I made my second dump meal which was one of those “I can’t think of anymore recipes and I’ve run out of energy” BBQ chicken bags I made. Well as a side I decided to do the ONE THING my mother would literally snap her fingers at.

I made…instant mashed potatoes. A if you’re reading this you better not tell on me!!!! Our mom HATES instant mashed potatoes and she would probably go on a rant about how bad it is for me. She has always made us mashed potatoes from scratch with all the love of our heart. I’m telling you they are good! I never even knew instant was even an option growing up till I went to friends houses and that’s what their parents would make. Being the little snot I was I would say, “oh..my mom makes the REAL thing and she said we don’t do instant”. I wasn’t the sweetest little girl. My mother always told me that it takes just as much effort to make instant as it does the real deal.

But, here I am, a grown woman that made instant mashed potatoes for the first time and can I be honest? It was dang good! Sorry mom, but I don’t have enough effort to mash, smash, and beat my potatoes at this point in my life. Those instants took me less than 5 seconds to make!

Displaying FullSizeRender.jpg

Next time she comes to visit I’m going to make some instant and have her eat it without telling her. I wonder if she would figure it out?

Have a dump recipe you want me to try out? Post it in the comments, I’ll make it and share my experience.

Leave a Reply

