Take Yo Hands Off My Birth Control!

As I’m reading my previously recorded, Lindsay on OWN, I stumble across an interesting post from a Facebook acquaintance. The post was a link to an article about why women have chosen not to use birth control

Many of the pictures were of women holding up signs stating their reasons why they don’t use birth control. Some of the reasons were that it was against their religion, it’s toxic for their body, or that they have respect for themselves. One of the articles state that these women are Catholic and according to Catholicism birth control is prohibited. The other article doesn’t state the religion of the women and just lists the reason they have personally chosen not to partake in birth control.

I believe every woman should have the choice to decide what is best for their body and their family. I may not agree with certain forms of birth control, but I would never tell another woman what to do with their body or try to make them feel a certain type of way about their choice. For an example, one of the pictures states why the woman doesn’t use birth control as, ““Because I am responsible and make mindful decisions, accepting the consequences to every action I make” (http://www.catholicsistas.com/2014/07/17/dont-use-birth-control/). I personally believe that taking birth control is a very responsible thing for someone to do if they aren’t ready for children. Taking birth control doesn’t make you any less accepting of the consequences of your actions.

What ever choice you make regarding your body, as long as you’re making responsible choices, is great for you! I personally think birth control is great because it gives me the flexibility of deciding when I’m ready to have a child. I don’t think anyone should have to have a child before they’re ready and thankfully there are choices that empowers us as women. A women should have the choice over her body and it doesn’t make her any less of a woman if she decides to use birth control.

Thankfully women have the power to choose what is best for them. Remember it’s your body and whatever you choice, do whats best for YOU.

-M

Leave a Reply

