Oh shoot! My husband is returning from deployment!

The only thing worse than preparing for your husband to deploy is preparing for him to return.

Don’t get me wrong I am THRILLED that my husband is finally returning, but there’s a TON of things I need to get done before this can happen. How the hell did my house go from sparkling clean to looking like a mid-semester college dorm? As mentioned before I was a stay at home wife working on my education and I cleaned like a Stepford wife. Currently I work part time, go to school part time, and start new hobbies like it’s a hobby.

Here’s a short description of what my living room looks like:

  • I have folded clean laundry from a week ago still sitting on the couch.
  • I tried to build a cat house 3 weeks ago from a broken dresser and the unfinished unsightly project is taking up the middle of my living room.
  • 2 weeks ago I decided it was time to start working out and now dumbbells lay across the living room. My cat now uses them to play hide and seek.
  • The box for the dumbbells was placed on the loveseat and the cat now uses that as her home. She has strategically used it to lure and attack the dog. So much for the cat house I built!

I am normally a clean freak, but something about this deployment has made me lose the inhibition to clean and cook. Let’s just say I’ve been eating fish sticks more often than a picky toddler.

Now, my goal is to clean one area every day until he gets here. If I receive a call that he’s coming a few days earlier than expected I’m just going to shove everything left in that closet he doesn’t go in! Shh

Are you going through a deployment and have some tips you would like to share? Let me know! – M

Leave a Reply

