Money Talks

I am a saver. If it was up to me I would live off of Ramen Noodles and butter just to save more money. Being frugal is one of my greatest strengths and yet it happens to get me into sticky situations.

I have been working since I was 16 and I have always been a saver. When I was little my grandpa would always tell me that, “a penny saved is a penny earned” and I took it to heart. Other little girls I knew wanted frilly looking piggy banks while I would request an electric coin roller. I like efficiency and something about watching your money build tickles me.

I knew that other people weren’t as freakish as me, but I never understood why? Why don’t they want to make spreadsheets and roll pennies for fun?

Getting married a year ago I got to see first hand how my husband related to money. It was not the same as me and it freaked me out. We sat down, multiple times, and discussed different topics involving money. It was important conversations that allowed us to communicate better and avoid many problems that other married couples have involving money.

My question to you all is, Do you believe in a joint account and if so how do you determine what is being spent and what is being saved?

-M
Leave a Reply

