Cooking With M – Chicken Alfredo

As many of you may know, I am a Super Foodie, but I tend to rely on others cooking to get my pleasure rather than my own. I’m not a bad cook, but I lack experience, and I tend to be afraid to try new recipes. After spending hours of time, these past two weeks, helping in the kitchen’s of various women, I have decided to take on a new challenge. I will now take on a new recipe each week and present it to you all! These will be recipies I find or ones that you all send in. If you’re afraid to cook it, I will!

This week I took on one of my favorite dishes, Chicken Alfredo. My best friend made this dish all the time when we were roommates. I would sneak into her tupperware late at night and steal a couple of bites. It was bliss.

I was going to see if I could use her recipe, but since she works overnights she was asleep when I called. Thank God for Google because I found an Olive Garden copycat alfredo recipe.

Click Here To Get The Recipe I Used.

Before I start let me show you what I bought at the grocery store. The picture below is a plastic Gizmo themed cup! I love Gizmo. My family has a running joke that I turn into a gremlin when I’m hungry, which is true. Normally I would NEVER buy a plastic cup because I hate plastic food dishes. But this cup is special and will probably be the only plastic you’ll ever see in my house. My future children will learn how to drink out of Dollar Store glass cups.

Anyways, back to the food. I was surprised to see that the recipe really only called for a couple of ingredients. The bulk of the recipe calls for Parmesan Cheese, Cream, and Butter. Of course since I’m adding chicken it is also displayed in the photo.

I decided to make a grilled chicken to go with my Alfredo Sauce. I cooked my chicken on a George Forman grill. I HAD a large, beautiful indoor grill till my puppy ate the cord. Grr. The GF grill cooks the chicken fast and leaves a nice char on it. The picture below will show you the steps I took to grill it. Shout out to my mother and step dad for buying me this GF grill!

I used Chicken Breasts and cleaned them very well. You can use whatever seasonings you prefer, but I used garlic powder, garlic salt, pepper, parsley, and Mrs. Dash – Chicken

I don’t have a specific amount of time I put them on the grill for. I put them on and just check every so often to see if it’s beginning to char.

Once they get a little char I flip them. I like to get the nice lines going down them!

This is the finished product below. Look at all the nice steam coming off of them. Nom Nom Nom.

On to the sauce!
I’m not going to go through all the measurements because I doubled the sauce. If you would like to know the exact amounts check out the recipe link at the top
The recipe called for butter!!! Anything that has butter in it is already yummy.

Melted butter + salt + pepper + garlic

Add the Cream

Let it simmer then add the Parm cheese

At this point you’re supposed to let it simmer for 8 minutes. During this time I decided to add zucchini to my alfredo! Since I’ve been away for two weeks my garden is over grown and partially dead. So, it’s time to start eatting from it.

I let it simmer and cooked my pasta. The meal was super fast to cook and didn’t take much effort. I normally grill chicken everyday so the extra step of sauce wasn’t hard.

Below is my plate of food! I loveee cheese and I loveeee sauce.

It came out really good. I was a little bit disappointed that the Parm Cheese didn’t break down further to make the sauce more creamy. I’m not sure if it was something I did or if I should;ve grated my own cheese. If you have any suggestions to make a wickedly good Alfredo Sauce, LET ME KNOW!!!
-M
Leave a Reply

